BUG Community

Welcome! Log In

Forums BUGbase Hardware Issue?

Subscribe to Hardware Issue?  10 posts, 4 voices

Dec 7, 2008 8:19pm
Img_missing_medium lltdl7 7 posts

I’m a senior computer engineering student at ONU. My senior design group had planned on doing a prototype of our project using the Bug. The problem is that we cannot get certain applications to run. We have tried simple ones like NightRider and that one works fine, but ones like GpsLogger will not work at all. Every time we start the BugBase, it just loads into a Linux OS. Sometimes the front display doesn’t even show that there are any modules attached. Other times when we remove a module, it still shows in the display until the Bug is restarted. Furthermore, there are times when all that shows up on the LCD module is a white (blank) screen.

I have read that the LCD module only works in ports 1 and 3, so we use it there (although I have tested it in every port). What is going on with this? Are we not understanding something? Is there an easy way to fix it?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Dec 8, 2008 11:39am
Medium Bug Labs team agordon 74 posts

Hi, lltdl7.

Please make sure that your BUG is running the latest release versions of Dragonfly SDK, and the BUG kernel and rootfs. See http://buglabs.net/sdk and http://bugcommunity.com/wiki/index.php/Latest_B… for details.

Also, some of the more "cutting edge" apps may not run without our upcoming 1.4 release, or without having other library apps installed. You can probably find all of these files in our subversion repository at svn.buglabs.net.