BUG Community

Welcome! Log In

Forums Java new at programming

Subscribe to new at programming  9 posts, 5 voices

Feb 29, 2008 7:39pm
User_img_not_found_06_med cameronmcl... 8 posts

I am a student and I would like to know of any Suggestions for books, websites, or tutorials for java so I can program for the Bug.

Thanks,
Cameron

Mar 1, 2008 2:20pm
Medium Bug Labs team mcaric 64 posts

Hi cameron,

I’m also fairly new to Java and I’m using two different books at the moment. The first is Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner, which is extremely boring, but like the title suggests, written for the absolute beginner:
http://www.amazon.com/Java-Programming-Absolute…

The other book I’m reading is Head First Java, which is a little more complicated but also a lot more enjoyable to read:
http://www.amazon.com/Head-First-Java-Kathy-Sie…

There’s also a number of websites out there that have online tutorials available, one of my favorites is JavaRanch: http://www.javaranch.com/

Hope this helps!
Melinda

Mar 1, 2008 5:32pm

Can I use dragonfly as the program for these books or do you suggest to use another program.

Mar 1, 2008 7:02pm
Medium Bug Labs team kschultz 107 posts

A few suggestions:

Start out with Eclipse and do some standard Java programs. The Dragonfly SDK is just a plugin for Eclipse, but there is a bit of overhead for managing when the program starts/stops on the BUG that you don't want to deal with at first.

I learned Java originally from the official Java =http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/tutorial

Have you programmed in other languages before? If not it might be easier to learn a different language first real quick i.e. Python or Ruby and then learn Java after. Java is not hard at all (i.e. you don't have to worry about memory, lots of libraries of stuff to use) but it is a bit verbose which is a distraction at first. For example to print a line in python is

print "Hello World"

whereas in java it is

System.out.println("Hello World");