BUG Community

Welcome! Log In

Forums Java Very new user

Subscribe to Very new user  6 posts, 4 voices

Jan 12, 2009 5:07pm
Img_missing_medium tizzo 2 posts

Hey guys! I just found out about the bug from the coverage of CES! I’m VERY excited to get one and start building things!

I am a web developer and am reasonably good with PHP and MySQL. I have worked with ActionScript for years and have moved to all OOP in ActionScript 3. I have no java experience but from looking through some example programs for the bug JAVA looks very very similar to OOP AS3.

Should I first get up to speed with JAVA, or do you guys think I can start right up with developing for the bug?

The tutorials make a fair bit of sense so far but I don’t know the bug objects well yet. Are there good docs for the API?

Also is there any where I can download Eclipse + Dragonfly for Mac with the new modules included, or do I have to build those from the svn source? I have no idea how to do that but have a great idea for something with sound!

Download link anywhere?! I don’t suppose there are nightly builds available?

Sorry this was long, I’m quite excited but not sure where to start!

Jan 12, 2009 9:13pm
Medium Bug Labs team agordon 74 posts

SDK (Eclipse/Dragonfly) builds can be found here:

http://buglabs.net/sdk

And the BUG rootfs and kernel can be found in our svn repo

http://svn.buglabs.net/ (browsable web interface)
svn://svn.buglabs.net (to checkout specific code/projects)

If you’re just getting started with BUGapp and Java development, you’ll probably just want to grab the latest Full Build of the Production version of the SDK, to get up and running as quickly and easily as possible. You can try your hand at writing some BUG apps on the SDK’s virtual BUG, and see how you feel about the whole Java/OSGi thing. By the time you get up to speed with that, we’ll probably have another Production SDK build and rootfs&kernel, for an easy upgrade.

Jan 14, 2009 10:49am