BUG Community

Welcome! Log In

Forums Java JLayer + OSGi

Subscribe to JLayer + OSGi  20 posts, 9 voices

Jun 4, 2008 11:42pm
Img_missing_medium scott2345 11 posts

Hi,

I would like to use some of the JLayer 1.0 packages for audio decoding and playback in the BUG (For the new audio module). At first I tried to just import these packages into my BUG App, then realized I probably have to export them as OSGi bundles. The only problem is that I am unable to edit the JLayer .jar manifest file in order to export the packages. I am fairly new to the whole OSGi stuff, so please feel free to deeply elaborate on any responses.

Thanks.

Jun 11, 2008 3:39pm
Medium Bug Labs team jconnolly 285 posts

scott2345
Hi,

I would like to use some of the JLayer 1.0 packages for audio decoding and playback in the BUG (For the new audio module). At first I tried to just import these packages into my BUG App, then realized I probably have to export them as OSGi bundles. The only problem is that I am unable to edit the JLayer .jar manifest file in order to export the packages. I am fairly new to the whole OSGi stuff, so please feel free to deeply elaborate on any responses.

Thanks.

Hiya Scott,

I would take a look at either FlickrUppr or MotherBUGTweetNTwitch for examples of how to use an external jar lib in your App bundle.

I'm not sure about JLayer in particular, but using external jars, you don't need to export the jars as bundles. To access them, merely place them into the BundleClasspath by modifying your Applications Manifest to look something like:

Bundle-ClassPath: .,jars/JLayer.jar.

Where JLayer is physically located in a jars folder in your project. You can get the jar into your project by right-clicking on the project and selecting "Import->File-System->(Navigate to Directory)". I select the "Create complete folder structure" otherwise eclipse does some funky stuff to the structure and the file just hangs out in the top level of your project hierarchy. :roll: