BUG Community

Welcome! Log In

Forums BUG SDK problem building kernel

Subscribe to problem building kernel  11 posts, 7 voices , Tagged: libtool-native config error

May 23, 2009 1:34pm
User_img_not_found_03_med minusw 13 posts

I am new to this project and I am having problems trying to build a kernel.

I check out a new tree and it always fails trying to build libtools-native.

Checked out external at revision 6227
Checked out revision 9178

libtool-native_1.5.10
——————————
do_fetch
do_unpack

automake-native_1.9.6
——————————

do_qa_configure
do_compile
do_install
do_populate_staging

libtool-native_1.5.10
——————————-
do_patch
do_configure
do_qa_configure
do_compile    ERROR: function do_compile failed

configure: error: source directory already configured; run “make distclean” there first

Any ideas or suggestions?

thanks, bk….

May 23, 2009 5:01pm
Medium Bug Labs team agordon 74 posts

@minusw,

I’m assuming that you’re using the instructions at http://bugcommunity.com/wiki/index.php/Kernel_a… .

It would help to know a little about your build environment, like which OS you’re running, and what the last command was that you typed before seeing this error.  I’m assuming it was “bitbake linux-bug”.

If that’s the case, I’d probably recommend trying something like “bitbake -c dist-clean libtool-native” and/or “rm -rf tmp/work//libtool-native” then “bitbake libtool-native”.  If that compiles properly, then try your “bitbake linux-bug” command again.

Feel free to drop into the #buglabs channel in freenode IRC if you’re looking for more realtime support from developers and other BUG users.  If you’re not familiar with IRC, we have a web-based client on our support page at http://buglabs.net/support that will drop you straight into our channel.

May 24, 2009 2:18pm

I am running fc9 and the command issued was bitbake linux-bug.

I am also using the bitbake command that was checked out in the tree.