BUG Community

Welcome! Log In

Forums BUG SDK Basic Structure of an Application...

Subscribe to Basic Structure of an Application...  16 posts, 4 voices

May 20, 2008 7:13pm
Img_missing_medium afritz 24 posts

Just received my bug today...

I'm an experience java developer and I usually work in IntelliJ so I apologize if the answer to any of my questions is Eclipse related. Working with Eclipse for this REALLY makes me appreciate how awsome IntelliJ is...

My main question is, what is the basic structure of a *REAL* application for the bug. The trivial examples in the wiki are all fine and dandy, but I'm having almost no luck extending them or combining them. I can't find anything that explains in detail the life cycle of a Bug app. Does such a document exist?

As a secondary question, I'm getting class def not found on bug sdk classes when I try to run in the virtual bug. For example I get:
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/buglabs/application/AbstractServiceTracker
on the testing app I'm trying to create now. I have:
import com.buglabs.application.AbstractServiceTracker;
at the top of my class. I basically copied that part from the One Button demo app. What am I missing? Is there some project setting needed to include the basic bug libs? I created the project using the "New Bug Project" button.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can set me right...
May 20, 2008 11:56pm
Medium Bug Labs team finsprings 268 posts

You need to list the dependencies of your application in its manifest (METE-INF/MANIFEST.MF). When you create an app via the wizard (and choose Dragonfly) you can pick the services you want then, providing you click on a real or virtual bug to populate the list.