BUG Community

Welcome! Log In

Forums BUG SDK import problem

Subscribe to import problem  10 posts, 4 voices

Jan 31, 2008 11:20am
Img_missing_medium MarcC 10 posts

First of all I’m sorry if this question seems a little dumb. I’m very new with Java (it is also my first programming language) and up till now all my coding was with J2SE. I am working on a piece of software for the bug where I was going to recycle code from some of my other projects. The problem is that my prior class used the following:
’:evil:’

import javax.xml.parsers.DocumentBuilder;
import javax.xml.parsers.DocumentBuilderFactory;
import javax.xml.parsers.ParserConfigurationException;

import org.w3c.dom.Document;
import org.w3c.dom.Element;
import org.w3c.dom.NodeList;
import org.xml.sax.SAXException;

I use the parser obviously for xml files that I load from online and load into an object. Is there a way for me to still have access to these classes or another similar set available. Any information which might point me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. I really could write this without the parser but it would make my life a lot more complicated, I’d really like not to have to change all my code if not needed.

Thanks

Jan 31, 2008 12:52pm
Medium Bug Labs team kschultz 107 posts

Don't worry I had the same issue, there are so many different versions of Java and they all have a different set of libraries so going between the various versions can be a pain if you are using the built in libraries a lot.

The BUG has PhoneME advanced libraries and they don't have a lot of the javax.* libraries that J2SE has. For XML parsing check out the com.buglabs.util.XmlParser, it is located in the com.buglabs.common jar under Bug Libraries, it is a highly-simplified XML DOM parser that does not support namespaces, but it might be able to do what you need. It would require rewriting a bit of your code but it would be more lightweight than bringing extra jars into your project for xml parsing.