BUG Community

Welcome! Log In

Forums Way Off Topic A student needs some help !

Subscribe to A student needs some help !  4 posts, 2 voices

Nov 8, 2011 7:22am
User_img_not_found_03_med Erpel 3 posts

Hi ,

I’m studying engeneering at the
university of Kassel (Germany).For a few weeks i’m writing a
dissertation about „Open Source Hardware“.Because of that, i try to analyze open
source hardware projects like BugLabs.After i have red some articles about
BugLabs and explored the internet page, i’m not sure if BugLabs is
realy open source hardware.

Is everyone allowed to produce Buglabs
and to sell them ? Are users involved in the planning process ? Does
BugLabs upload the schematics, Designs and so on for free ?Do you have to pay BugLabs for
producing or selling your own Device ?

Thanks for reading this. I hope you can
help me.

Best regards

Erpel

Nov 8, 2011 10:27am
Medium Bug Labs team mgrundy 9 posts

Hi Erpel -

We certainly are Open Source Hardware! A good example is our BugBase (Y.T.) all the schematics, board layouts, gerber files are available on its hardware information page http://wiki.buglabs.net/index.php/Hardware:BUG_… ,  and as you’ll see the same holds true on the other hardware module pages. Everyone is allowed to produce hardware based on these designs or exactly following them.  The only thing you can’t do is call it a bug, or pretend you are or represent Bug Labs (if you want to do something like that, call us!)